The Reuben – Redone

So I couldn’t help it. The last post really was the last one of the year…until last night. 
I was just going to make Reubens – without the camera. But as I put all the ingredients together, something possessed me and I ran upstairs for my trusty Canon. This recipe was just too good not to share with you.
If you are a lover of Reubens, as I am, I hope you’ll agree. 

The ingredients are temptingly fresh. From the quick and easy sauerkraut, to the made from scratch Thousand Island dressing, a think you’ll appreciate this combo.
The Bread – I love rye with caraway seeds, but sourdough is a good choice too. Thin slices are super nice in my opinion. There is something about a sandwich that is bigger than your mouth that just isn’t appetizing. Maybe I’m just weird, I mean, I eat hamburgers with a fork.

The Meat – I roasted a turkey for these and finely shredded the meat, making sure it was is bite-sized pieces. I don’t know about you, but I dislike biting into a turkey sandwich and pulling out a 6 inch long piece of turkey. Pet peeve of mine. I’m not a picky eater, but I can be pick about my food. :D
The Cheese – Swiss is traditional, but we obviously aren’t going traditional here. Some members of my family like swiss, some do not (read emphatically!), so I use provolone, or cheddar… or Swiss.

The Kraut – You can buy this in a jar or a bag in the refrigerated section of your grocery store, or you can make this quick and easy recipe that is just as good or better.
1/2 head of cabbage, thinly slivered
1 t. salt
1/2 t. caraway seeds
1/2 c. vinegar (I used a mix of red wine vinegar and white)
Place all ingredients in a large bowl and tamp down for about 5 minutes. ( I use the end of a french rolling pin for this step. A thick wooden spoon would work too.)  This brings out the cabbage juices, helps meld the flavor and breaks up the cabbage a bit more. Cover and chill for about 3 hours.
The Dressing – You can simple buy Thousand Island Dressing or the traditional Russian dressing, but this recipe is a thousand times better. The original called for a quart of mayonnaise, which would make a lot of dressing. I scaled it down to half size here. There’s a lot of chopping going on. I did it by hand because I wanted that look, but it would taste just as good mixed in the food processor using the chopper tool. As another option, here’s a recipe that pretty much uses the squirt and stir method.
2 eggs, hard-boiled and diced
1/8 c. worchestershire sauce
1 1/2 t. sugar
1/8 c. white vinegar
1 pinch of cloves, ground
2 c. mayonnaise
1/3 c. sweet pickle relish
1/4 c. diced black olives
1/4 c. red bepper, diced
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl. Cover and chill until needed. 
Assemble the sandwiches with the ingredients in the order listed above.
Top with another piece of bread and butter generously.

Place butter side down in a preheated, buttered skillet, or butter side up on a panini griddle. Cook until the outside is golden brown and the cheese is melted.

Oh yum!

7 thoughts on “The Reuben – Redone

  1. Wow! This is SO redone…are you sure it should be called a reuben????Looks absolutely fabulous!I'm so glad I don't have to compete with you. Grandma and Jack think I am really something when I melt velveta and add some salsa to make nacho dip to serve along with fried rice made from leftover stir fry. That's good. VERY good. Don't tell them any differently. Love you, Sarah! I miss you. Not just your cooking. YOU!

  2. It was good!!! But i did get a pretty hefty chunk of turkey in my sandwich that I had to try and work my way around, so I did go get a fork… ;)Just giving you a hard time, Sarah. This was a great redo!!!

  3. Pingback: Sauerkraut Update and Food Films | Stir It Up!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

