Autumn – Homemade Cardamom Marshmallows

Chain saws whir as dead trees fall to the ground and the woodpile grows. The scent of wood smoke and diesel exhaust from the tractor wafts in the air and leaves flutter to the ground, encouraged by the crisp, northerly breezes.

Turkeys and deer wander through our yard almost every day now. It won’t be long before hunting season starts and they all disappear, much to the chagrin of the local hunters. Where do they hide anyway?

Turkeys perched on the arbor outside my window. They fly onto the roof too!

Pumpkins, picked right out of Mom’s garden, welcome us to the front porch, together with colorful mums and a wreath on the door.

Hot apple cider simmers on the stove, the cinnamon sticks, cloves and star anise pods swirling in the sweet and spicy nectar.

I pull out my hoodie – and my fuzzy socks – with a happy sigh. Fall is finally here!

I’ve been waiting for this moment since Spring. Really, I have. Autumn is my favorite season.

We had a surprise party last night for my sister, Tera, who completed her associates in interior design with upper merit.

Fall decorations, white lights, straw bales, a bonfire, and s’more and coffee bars made for a cozy evening on a rather chilly night.

I’ve never been a s’more fan. Marshmallows, I decided long ago, were too closely related molecularly to Styrofoam for eating enjoyment. However, I always thought it would be fun to make them and, when I came across a site that sold cardamom marshmallows, I knew this wouldn’t be the traditional s’more bar.

After watching a video on how to make Marshmallows (start at 5:40 for recipe), I gathered the ingredients and, with the help of a dear friend, whipped up the first batch. It really is as easy as that – setting the mixer on med-high and letting it do the job.

Most Marshmallow recipes call for corn syrup, but after reading all the GMO headlines lately, I wasn’t about to use that. This recipe calls for Organic Cane Sugar and Organic Agave Nectar. I know agave isn’t the greatest sweetener, but we’re talking marshmallows here, not healthy foods. These will be the healthiest marshmallows you’ll ever eat though and I promise you, they are not even close to the consistency of Styrofoam cups. :)

3 pkg. unflavored gelatin

1/2 c. water

2 c. organic cane sugar

2/3 c. organic agave nectar

1/4 c. water

2 t. ground cardamom

1/4 t. salt

powdered sugar

Preparation – oil plastic wrap and use it to cover a 9×9 square cake pan. (Double the recipe for a 9×13 pan.) I found the easiest way to do this is to lay the wrap on a flat surface, rub the oil in your hands, then onto the wrap, making sure to coat every bit that might hold marshmallow. Lastly, place the wrap over the pan. Don’t worry about getting the plastic wrap in the corners. The marshmallow will help with that. Oil one more sheet to place over the top and set aside.

Combine gelatin and 1/2 c. water in mixer bowl and let sit for a few minutes.

Mix sugar, agave, 1/4 c. water and cardamom in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.

Boil one minute.

Start the mixer and beat on low as you slowly pour the hot sugar mixture into the bowl of gelatin. Add salt, drape a towel over the mixer to catch any drips and turn to high speed. Beat for 12 minutes.

Using a heavy spatula, scoop the mixture into the waiting pan, pressing into the corners and spreading evenly. Cover with the oiled sheet of plastic wrap and press smoothly over the top.

Let sit for at least 2 hours, or overnight if you make them a day ahead.

Prepare a bowl of powdered sugar. Lift the marshmallow out of the pan onto a flat cutting surface. Dust surface with powdered sugar. Using a large knife, cut into squares, coating in powdered sugar as you go.

Stack in an air tight container and store for up to 3 days.

Stir into hot Coconut Thai Chai from Celestial Seasonings for a delicious treat or add to coffee to give it a Swedish twist.

Marshmallow variations –

Add to mixture right before you start the timer for 12 minutes.

  • 1 t. vanilla, plus vanilla bean scraped from one pod.
  • 1 t. peppermint extract
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. cloves, 1/4 t. ginger
  • cocoa powder

Another option? Roast over a fire and use in an Apple Caramel S’more.

ginger cookies ~ thinly sliced green apples ~ cardamom marshmallow ~ caramel sauce

May I suggest serving a Pumpkin Spice Latte with that?

Last four photos were taken by my sister, Sage. See more of her party pictures here.

30 thoughts on “Autumn – Homemade Cardamom Marshmallows

    • You’re totally right, Grace! I was so surprised how easy they were to make though. I thought one had to go through some scientific process to yield marshmallows! :P Now I have NO excuse to buy them ever again – and I love that. I’m allergic to even picking up a package of them at the store. :)

  1. YUUuuuuummmm! Ok, so I have never tasted agave nectar(always made my marshmallows with…*cough* cornsyrup :-| )….. Does it have a strong flavor?? Spectacular drink list btw!!! WOW!

    • The agave didn’t impart any flavor at all from what I could tell. I was worried that the marshmallows would be brown and distasteful looking using brown syrup and sugar, but I like the creamy natural color that occurred. :D
      Ah, thanks! I had a hard time narrowing the list down to only 4 coffee drinks. ;) Brought back lots of good memories from my barista days.

    • Thanks so much, Lilly Sue! Our leaves are finally changing and it looks promising that we’ll have a pretty autumn this year. Yay! Hopefully more fall photos to come.

  2. Did I ever choose the right time to come visit your blog.. I’m new here and love what I see. Those marshmallows with cardamom would be fantastic.. and I think it’s great that you’ve substitute with agave. Do you think any “liquid” sweetener would work? Happy Autumn!!

    • Hi Barbara! Thanks so much for visiting! Honestly, I’m not sure, but I think any syrupy sweetener ( similar to the consistency of corn syrup) would work.
      I considered using honey, but my guess is that honey would yield a softer marshmallow that may be undesirable for roasting, since honey thins significantly when heated. Also, I hated the thought of killing all the great properties in raw honey. :D
      Happy Autumn to you, too!

  3. What lovely photography! And I love the idea of cardamom-flavored marshmallows! I have never been a fan of marshmallows in the past, but last year I made my own using maple syrup, and I’m a fan now. They were soooo yummy, and didn’t leave me with that icky “Whoa! I’ve had too much sugar!” feeling. It’s one of those cases where homemade is definitely better!

    • Thanks so much, Candi!
      So maple syrup works well too! That’s good to know. :D
      Did you use sugar along with that, or just maple syrup to sweeten?
      I need to do some more experimenting, but I still have marshmallows left from the last batch.

      • Just maple syrup. The only downside is it makes for some rather expensive marshmallows. :-( I used Carrie Vitt’s recipe from her Deliciously Organic cookbook.

  4. Pingback: And That’s a Salad! | Stir It Up!

  5. Okay, so I am finally here to say I tried your marshmallow recipe and LOVE it. I actually have made 4 batches since you posted the recipe and meant to tell you sooner how delicious they are! I had had a horrible time with “all natural” marshmallow recipes. Unless I used corn syrup, all the recipes I tried were disastrous until this one!!! Thank you for posting it, my entire family is enjoying the recipe! :)

    • Yay! I’m so glad you all like them! And thanks so much for the feed back. I think It’s nice to know what people think be it positive or negative. :D

  6. Pingback: Homemade Marshmallows! { no corn-syrup? no problem! :) } | granolagirlbakes

  7. Pingback: Homemade Marshmallows! { no corn-syrup? no problem! :) } – Granola Girl bakes

Throw your thoughts into the mix!