Breakfast Series – Pancakes

This isn’t just any pancake recipe though! These pancakes are amazingly yummy because they can easily be a completely balanced meal all in one nifty flapjack – protein, carbs, healthy fats and veggies! Don’t believe me? Just wait! It gets better.
1 c. oats
1 c. plain yogurt
1/4 t. sea salt
1 T. all fruit raspberry jam
1 T. ground flax seed
4 eggs
1 t. vanilla
1/4 t. baking soda
First of all, you soak the oats overnight in plain yogurt. This makes the oats more easily digestible and also makes absorption of vitamins and minerals more efficient .
The next morning spoon the oats into a blender and add salt, jam, soda, flax seed,  eggs and vanilla. Blend until smooth. (See, I said it’d get better – you’ve got your good proteins,  fiber rich seeds and some great flavor.)
 Rub coconut or olive oil on a griddle and heat on medium low until a drop of water sizzles on it. Ladle on a 1/2 cup of batter and cook into bubbles form all over the pancake’s surface, like this –

When you flip it over, it should look like this –

If it’s too brown, the heat needs to be turned down. Stating the obvious here…
They say that Kansas is as flat as a pancake. They could be right…
Top the finished pancakes with a bit of butter or coconut oil and some melted raspberry or strawberry jam. (Add some water to jam before melting for a syrupy consistency.)
Okay, so I’m sure you’re wondering about the veggie part, right?  Well, you won’t believe it (or maybe you know me well enough by now to believe it! :P ), but I added a handful of fresh baby spinach to this batch of batter before blending.
Spinach is just awesome! It blends easily with so many foods and keeps it’s lovely green color even after it’s cooked. I put it in my smoothies all  the time. You can barely taste it, but it packs the nutritious punch I’m always looking for.
Cook and serve the same way,  or omit the vanilla and jam from the recipe and top it with a fried egg and cheese. Come on, be brave! You know you want to try it! :P
Next post up – Penarious Challenge Ketchup!
Blog note – Our internet has been down for a few weeks, hence the long delay in posting. I’m sure you were beginning to wonder. You also may have noticed that my blog heading disappeared. Oops! When I mentioned it to Jeremy,  he acted like he knew just what happened to it, so it should be up again shortly. :D
Thanks for visiting!
~Sarah
7 thoughts on “Breakfast Series – Pancakes

  1. I WAS wondering about the veggie part! What a great recipe! So healthy. I'm looking forward to trying it. Have you tried it with steel-cut oats? (That's what I have in my cupboards.)

  2. Thanks, Jessica. :DSusan, I haven't tried it with steel cut…My guess is that just soaking wouldn't soften them enough to give the pancakes the consistency they need to flip them. Perhaps cooking them after they soak, then proceeding with the recipe? I'm not sure. :?

  3. this looks really good! i never thought of putting water with jam to make syrup! so smart. i also use polymer jam. and i love that u added spinach. this is my kind of food. very creative!!! <3 Cassey

  4. Pingback: Nourishing Soured Dough Banana Bread | Stir It Up!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

