Steel Cut Oats with Apricots, Cherries, and Cardamom

It’s been a rough week. A busy week.

My step-grandpa passed away after 91 years of living, so we took a trip to Arkansas for the service and to be with my Mormor. It was a quick trip because we had obligations here to get back to. My mom stayed with my grandma, though, and she and my sister are bringing her down this weekend. It will be good. I think Mormor needs to get away for a little bit. My Swedish grandma has outlived two husbands, and at 93, still loves to shop and swim and hang out with us young(er) ones.

At her age, it has to be terribly hard to feel so alone, but she needs to know she’s not alone. That she can come stay here with us. I hope she accepts that this weekend.

I want to make her Semla for tea one afternoon. And for breakfast, I think she’d like a warm bowl of steel cut oats strewn with apricot pieces, plump cherries, and hints of orange, cardamom, and vanilla.

Sound good? Stick around and I’ll make a bowl for you too.

IMG_0659

Steel Cut Oats with Apricots, Cherries, and Cardamom

  • 1 c. steel cut oats
  • 1 1/2 c. water
  • 3 T. yogurt, plain

Combine, cover and soak overnight. In the morning, add…

  • 3 c. water
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 1/2 t. cardamom

Bring to a boil, then simmer for 15 minutes. In the meantime, combine and soak…

  • 3/4 c. sliced, dried apricots
  • 1/2 c. dried cherries
  • juice of one orange
  • 1 T. vanilla

After the 15 minutes buzzer goes off, add the dried fruit mixture, along with…

  • 2-4 T. butter

Cook for 5-10 more minutes, or until desired consistency. Serve with raw honey, cream, toasted nuts, and a dash of cinnamon on top.

IMG_0674

Dip your spoon into this creamy, chewy, porridge and let all your worries melt away with the butter.

16 thoughts on “Steel Cut Oats with Apricots, Cherries, and Cardamom

    • Thanks so much! I found the bowl at TJ Max for 4 dollars – it’s terracotta and made in Italy. I decided I needed it for my oatmeal. :)
      Hope you enjoy this dish when you try it!

  1. So sorry for your loss Sarah. I’m sure your grandma will love being with her family.
    This sounds like an amazing breakfast! I love steel cut oats with cinnamon , your recipe sounds much better ;) adding this to my must try list !

    • Thank you, Thelma. I think she will too. :) Steel cut is a nice change over rolled oats. I actually hated oatmeal as I child, but now, I can’t get enough of it!

  2. So sorry for your loss Sarah. Keeping company with each other and enjoying comfort food sounds like a good way to make it through this time. (And this does sound like the most delicious kind of comfort food :) Your Mormor sounds like an inspiring woman!

    • Thank you so much, Andrea! Yes, she is an inspiration. She attributes her healthy old age to oatmeal every morning, with blueberries, and exercise. I think I’ll try it! :)

    • Thank you so much! I’m still have a long way to go when it comes to photograph – every shoot is a new lesson – so I appreciate your encouragement!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

