Gingerbread Waffles with Apples and Pecans

It was 0 degrees the other night. That’s right ZERO. We got 6 inches of snow over the weekend and the temps have stayed under 25 degrees since. I guess that isn’t too unusual for some of you, but around here, it rarely ever happens.

Snow Days call for some serious eats, don’t you think?

IMG_0512

I decided to make Gingerbread Waffles. I’d seen a recipe for them in some magazine, but I couldn’t remember which one it was. Besides, I didn’t want anything too sweet. Waffles call for maple syrup filling the holes and dripping over the top and I didn’t want anything competing with that (except butter, of course, but that’s a whole different competition!).

IMG_0492

Enough talk. Here’s the recipe –

Gingerbread Waffles with Apples and Pecans

Makes about 12 waffles

  • 3 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 t. ginger
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. allspice
  • 1 t. sea salt
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 lg. apple, diced
  • 1/2 c. pecans, chopped
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. plain yogurt
  • 1/4 oil (I used olive, but you could use melted butter or coconut oil)
  • 1/4 c. molasses
  • water or milk

Lightly oil and preheat waffle iron(s). Stir dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Add apple and pecans.

In a separate bowl, combine eggs, yogurt, oil, and molasses. Whisk together. Pour into dry ingredients and whisk to combine.

Add water or milk by the 1/2 cup, stirring to incorporate, until the batter is just a bit thicker than pancake batter. (I added about 2 cups, but it would vary slightly depending on your wheat, how thick your yogurt is, etc.)

Ladle batter into waffle iron and let bake. Top with melted butter, maple syrup, and whipped cream.

IMG_0499

IMG_0481

These would make great soaked wheat waffles as well. Just combine yogurt and flour the night before, add the remaining ingredients the next morning, and go easy on the water/milk.

IMG_0519

Scarves and waffles…so cozy and warm!
My mom knit this shawl.

Happy Winter, everyone!

Sarah

15 thoughts on “Gingerbread Waffles with Apples and Pecans

    • Thanks Mom! It has been a long time, but I can’t promise I’ll do any better in the future…Guess it’s not at the top of my list at this point in my life. :)

    • Who says gingerbread is only for winter?! :P Well, maybe gingerbread cookies, but gingerbread waffles rein all year…or should. ;)
      Thanks for commenting, Sarah!

    • Thank you Karen! Yes, the smells wafting from the waffle irons were pretty delightful! :) I should keep batter on hand just to smell the house up when I want to. :P

    • They are just so few and far between right now that they kind of hide out somewhere. :P Someday I’ll get re-modivated to post more…I hope! :D Glad you found it and thanks for your comment, Rachel!

  1. AHHHHH this look So Delish I cant take it :) your blog is so yummy and Im following.

    Check out my blog today…my all time fav. vegetarian lasagna :)

    Have a great week dear

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis – Swedish decor, food, and fashion

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

