Pumpkin Pecan Scones with Maple Glaze

I find it amazing how a perfectly blank calendar month can fill up so fast. October is two-thirds over and I haven’t even posted one recipe to celebrate autumn yet!

I hear from the food blogosphere that people are already getting tired of pumpkin recipes. What?!! Really? Apparently, I’m missing all of them because, barring my premature pumpkin peach ice cream, I haven’t even gotten started with the pumpkin recipes… Well, until this weekend.

market-copy2

My mom hosted a Market at the Farm Sale and asked me to make scones for it. I knew I wanted to make one variety with pumpkin for a “fall-in-the-air kind of sale” and when I found Denise’s recipe over at Chez Us using cardamom I decided I had to give it a try.

I made several changes to her recipe, but the idea is the same. I have to tell you, these scones are SO GOOD!

Pumpkin Pecan Scones with Maple Glaze

  • 1 1/2 c. white flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1 t. cardamom (freshly ground is best)
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 8 T. butter
  • 1/2 c. chopped pecans
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. cooked pumpkin

Mix the dry ingredients together. Cut in cold butter. Add nuts and stir to combine.

Mix together pumpkin and egg with a fork. I didn’t puree the fresh pumpkin, just mashed it with a fork. I love the strands of orange color this produced. Add to dry ingredients and stir together.

Pour out onto a floured surface and knead just enough to combine everything together. Pat into a disk about 1 inch thick and cut into 8 wedges.

At this point you can freeze the scones on a paper lined cookie sheet, transfer to a plastic bag and store in the freezer until ready to bake. It’s so easy to pop the frozen scones on a cookie sheet and into the oven when ever the mood hits. Bake at 350 for 27-29 minutes in this case.

IMG_0462

If you want a scone right away, heat the oven to 425 and bake for 12-14 minutes.

Glaze

1/2 c. Powdered sugar

maple syrup

I didn’t measure for this one, but really it’s all about what consistency you like for your glaze. Just add a tablespoon or two of maple syrup to the powdered sugar and stir until you like the way it looks and feels. Drizzle over warm scones.

IMG_0490

The orange glaze I put on the Cranberry Almond Scones would be really good on these too. That’s just powdered sugar and fresh orange juice. Add a few drops of orange extract if you want more intense orange flavor. I almost always want more intense orange flavor, though I did find one exception the other day – Dark Chocolate Orange Lindor truffles are just too orange!

IMG_0461

It was cold the morning of the sale making it the perfect morning to enjoy a warm scone and one of Caleb’s specialty espresso drinks! Wish you all could have been there!

IMG_0470

28 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pecan Scones with Maple Glaze

  1. Pingback: So How Was the Market? | Simply Painting

    • Your comments always make me smile. :D Sorry about the insipidity of the internet. ;) I’ll try to be better about post more. Thank you for your encouragement, Covetotop!

  2. Those look absolutely delicious!! I am going to have to try this recipe. :) This may be a strange question but what does cardamon taste like?? I don’t think I have tasted it before!

    • Hmmm…that’s a very hard question to answer! I’m not even sure how to explain what cardamom tastes like…gingery nutmeg with it’s own twist? :) A lot of Swedish baked items have cardamom in them so you may have tried it without knowing what it was. I just have to say, girl, you’ve got to try it! :P
      Thanks for coming by, Rachel.

  3. Hi Sarah! It was great to visit with you last weekend. You mentioned a source for vanilla beans…are you able to share that info here? See you at azure pick up.

    • Yes! :D Don’t you love adding to that list that never ends? I often wonder if I’ll ever live to see the last recipe cooked up on my mile long scroll. :P
      Thanks for coming by and commenting, Thelma!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

