Peach & Blackberry Summer Muffins

My sister and I went blackberry picking at our favorite berry farm a couple weekends ago. We arrived 15 minutes after the gate opened and within an hour and a half the rows of bushes were picked clean of every ripe berry they had. I’ve posted about this farm before, but no longer! Too many people know about it now and I’m sure it’s all my fault! :)

Anyway, I managed to freeze one and a half gallons and the rest of the 10 pounds were eaten as is, which is almost the best way to eat berries, I think. I did toss a few in to these muffins, because that’s a pretty good way to eat them too.

IMG_0127

You can make this recipe right away, or soak the wheat overnight in the yogurt. That’s what I did and it makes a moist and delicious breakfast treat. The peaches and blackberries can be substituted for your choice of fruit, berry, or any combination of both.

IMG_0146

Summer Breakfast Muffins

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. milk kefir, yogurt or buttermilk
  • 1 c. dates, finely chopped
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/8 t. sea salt
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. melted butter or coconut oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 c. berries
  • 1 chopped peach
  • 1/2 c. walnuts, chopped
  • 2 T. flax seed, ground

Instructions for soaking:

Mix the flour and yogurt together the night before, cover and let soak until morning (or about 10 hours). Add everything but the fresh fruits and stir to combine. Fold in berries and peaches. Divide batter into 12 muffin cups. Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool in pan for several minutes before turning out on to a cooling rack.

Non-soaking method:

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl including walnuts and dates. In another bowl combine eggs, yogurt, and oil. Stir into dry ingredients. Fold in berries and peaches. Bake 375 for about 20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_0166

Serve with some freshly churned raw butter if you have some on hand.

IMG_0191

18 thoughts on “Peach & Blackberry Summer Muffins

    • I just love picking! The berry farm here has the thornless variety, which makes it easy and painless. Too easy in fact! I want to pick more than I want to buy! :D

    • Thank you, Salama! I liked what you wrote in your About Me about photography. I totally relate as I have a very small camera and just don’t know much at all about taking pictures. Always learning though and that’s the fun part. :) Thanks for coming by!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

