A Cup of Chai

There is something about a warm mug of tea hugged between one’s two hands…

IMG_9476

I don’t know, it just makes me think happy thoughts. Fluffy down comforter, flickering flames in the wood stove and a book that pulls you into the story page by page (notice I didn’t say swipe by swipe of the finger tip ;)  – those are the welcome companions of a cup of tea.

That, and a dash of milk, a smidgen of honey and some whipped cream, of course.

Not to mention the heavenly smell of spices wafting through the house.

Have I talked you into a cup of Chai?

IMG_9466

Toss your choice of the following into a sauce pan:

  • freshly grated ginger
  • pepper corns
  • cinnamon sticks
  • whole cloves
  • whole cardamom pods
  • a vanilla bean, sliced in half
  • whole allspice
  • star anise
  • black tea leaves

Add about 6 cups of water.

IMG_9472

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and let simmer for an hour or two.

Strain into a mug.

IMG_9479

Add some milk and enough honey or sugar or maple syrup to bring out the spicy flavors. It’s a lovely color isn’t it?

IMG_9481

Top with whipped cream and sip ever so slowly.

IMG_9494

You may store the rest in a jar for later. Keep the spices in the liquid for more intense flavor.

IMG_9510

If you could have a good hour on a rainy day with a warm beverage and a book, what would you drink?

Double points for telling us what you would read as well!

IMG_9495

22 thoughts on “A Cup of Chai

  1. Hi Sarah,
    I just found your blog yesterday through the Jostie Flicks website. (We remember both of your families form Gospel Grass.
    I have a question- why do you post so much gluten free food? Is it because you feel it is healthier, or do you have Celiac’s Disease. Anyway, I guess it doesn’t matter, I was just curious. I was diagnosed with Celiac’s two years ago and am always glad to find new recipes. Thanks!
    In Christ,
    Beth
    Kremmling, CO

    • Hi Beth, Thanks so much for stopping by! That’s so neat that you know both of our families from Gospel Grass. That seems like a long time ago, but good memories! . :D

      I don’t have Celiac’s, but I often wonder if some of my minor health issue could be attributed to the gluten in our grains today. It makes sense to me that these grains don’t have the healthful properties that they did before people started messing around with (and messing up!), our food, therefore causing gluten intolerances – just like they caused lactose intolerance by processing milk.

      I do think gluten free eating can be a healthier way of eating (as long as one doesn’t go the processed gluten free route) because it focuses more on the whole food and eliminates a lot of junk food.

      I have a hard time demonizing whole wheat though and think it has a place, it’s just been WAY over used.

      Many people are gluten intolerant, including some of my friends. I love getting creative with “limitations” and catering to what people need when I can. I also enjoy eating gluten free on occasion, so that’s why there are so many gluten free recipes here. :D

      I hope you find some that you love! Please make yourself and home and enjoy the blog.

      Blessings, Sarah

  2. I completely forgot about this today or I would have tried it….maybe I can make a cup to go with me to work tomorrow :) Lovely post. And you know me, I’d always go for a peppermint mocha, caramel or vanilla latte….as for something to read….I’d ask you for a good read! ;)

      • So why kinda of books do you like to read? Non-fiction, biblical theme, fiction, science, historical, old world, or….???

        • Non-fiction mainly – auto-biographies and Christian literature. But I enjoy a really good fiction book every once in a while. I took the advice of one of my commenters, Joanna, and tried out the author, George B. McCutcheon. Good stuff!

  3. This chai sounds so good! I love chai, but for some reason I’ve never made my own spice mix–clearly that has to change. Usually my rainy day book drink is black tea of some kind–assam or darjeeling, generally. :) The book could be nearly anything, though!

  4. Your pictures are very good ! The Chai sounds amazing, I must try it!
    My hot drink would be Celestial Seasonings Bengal Spice Tea, and I would be reading a Gardening book/magazine or Home Decor/Design magazine :)

    • Thank you so much, Thelma! I just use a tiny camera we bought in Switzerland to replace the one that broke while we were over there, so I’m always surprised that they turn out as well as they do. Celestial Seasonings has such fabulous blends! Have you ever been to their factory in Boulder, CO? The smells are amazing!

  5. Found your blog through another one I follow. This is lovely stuff! Gorgeous photos! I love love love chai too. It’s my choice of drink for a cold winter’s (or spring, urgh disgusting british weather) day.

    • Thanks so much, Shu! You have a beautiful blog as well and I was intrigued by your recipes. Will be back to check out more. :) Thanks for dropping by!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

