Rosemary Roasted Beets with Honey Balsamic Reduction

IMG_9038

I’ve always wanted to like them. Their brilliant fuchsia color made me pick them up again and again. Surely if I try it enough times, in various different recipes, surely, I’d grow to like beets. I even tried making a beet and cherry cake last year…eh, wasn’t so great. The color was muted and the beet flavor was not. I just couldn’t get past that “dirt” taste…until this year.

IMG_9028

2012 will go down in history as the year I discovered beets with balsamic vinegar…

and that was that!

When I saw these ruby and golden beets at the produce stand, I knew what my next post would be – Roasted Beets with Balsamic Glaze. You’ve got the sweet and the tang and the earthy tones (not to be mistaken for “dirt taste”)Ā  in between. Yum!

IMG_9052

IMG_9054

You may, of course, roast the beets in the oven whole, but I wanted to soak up as much color as I could get by quartering. Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and rosemary leaves.

IMG_9070

An hour and a half or maybe two, at 350 degrees, makes them soft enough to stick a fork in them. Let cool slightly before removing skins.

Meanwhile, combine 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar and 1 T. honey in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.

IMG_9077

IMG_9080

IMG_9089

Stir until is begins to thicken. Remove from heat and drizzle on sliced beets.

IMG_9094

Enjoy as a side dish on it’s own or serve in a salad of fresh greens and a sharp Vermont cheddar.

IMG_9104

What favorite beet dish would you serve someone if you were trying to convince them to like beets?

18 thoughts on “Rosemary Roasted Beets with Honey Balsamic Reduction

  1. Oh my goodness! Your photos are beautiful! Your presentation is beautiful! Well done!
    And I have to try this.

    But. I love beets. Like…LOVE them. Grandma keeps trying to can some, but the three of us eat them all up as soon as she’s made them. SO…..I can’t help you there. I LOVE them. :)

  2. I totally agree with all of the comments, I have to try this too! I like them, mainly because they are good for you, they often end up in a juice of some sort, and, are never a first choice, maybe this will help ;)

    • Pickling is definitely one of the best ways to eat beets, for sure! No wonder no one wanted to do anything else with them! :D Thanks for leaving a comment, Alicia.

  3. Hooray for beets! They’re definitely great roasted, and I love the idea of tart balsamic with their rich sweet taste. I personally am in love with pickled beets–who doesn’t love pickles? :)

  4. I actually love beets too, but I’ve not tried this! I usually pickle them or cook them as you have and just add butter, salt, and pepper. I have fermented them once, but that didn’t turn out so great. I made a balsamic reduction recently for the tiny lamb chops we brought home from your place and it was wonderful! I’m sure we would like it on beets. :)

    Speaking of lamb, I am thinking of making lamb for dinner here Christmas Eve for Mike, Hannah, and my family. Do you have any great tried and true recipes for lamb?

    • Yes, I bet you will like it on beets! Let me know if you try it.
      John smoked some lamb for Thanksgiving and it was AMAZING! But, if you don’t have a smoker, that’s not very helpful is it? My Grandma makes tiny slits in her lamb roast and stuffs them with garlic and green olives. Then I believe she rubs the whole thing down with oil and seasons with salt and pepper. It’s pretty delish! I just try something different every time, so nothing really “tried and true”. :D

  5. Making this today since we have a nice bunch of beets in the garden! We’ll serve it with with fresh salad greens and sharp cheddar as you suggested. Thanks again for the recipe ! Love your new header and page background!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

