Oven Sweet Potato Fries with Rosemary

There were only four of us tonight for dinner. It’s kind of strange. I should be used to anything by now as there is always a different number of people at our table and I never know very far in advance how many it will be. This week it was  5, 9, 7, 3, 9, 12, and 7, respectively.

It’s a grocery shopper’s/ cook’s nightmare. There aren’t that many people home to eat the leftovers either. I love leftovers.

Once.

When I have to eat them 3 days in a row? I’ve got an issue with that.

Ah, the simplicity of the full family table! Now life is more complicated…

So, I should get better about gauging how much food five of us eat, but as you can see, I don’t get consistent practice. :D

Anyway, tonight we had hamburgers – it’s not too hard to estimate quantity there – and sweet potato fries.

I’m not a fan of fast food and will usually eat leftovers 2 days in a row before going out for a burger and fries. I’m very picky about my burger and fries and most fast food places just, well… gross me out. But last week, we went out to Smashburger, a new joint that arrived in OKC just a couple years ago. (Two years in town and I’ve never been before. See? Like I said, I don’t do much fast food.) I was impressed! The burger was delicious and the sides were amazing – asparagus, green beans and carrots, fried pickles, crunchy fried onions (yeah, I’m picky about those, too.) and rosemary sweet potato fries.

In their own words –

EVERY BURGER DESERVES A GOOD SIDEKICK.

Romeo had Juliet. Peanut butter has jelly.
And your Smashburger has tasty signature sides like
Smashfries, sweet potato fries and haystack onions
to keep it company and your taste buds very, very happy.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Like I said, I’m picky about my fries, like, I don’t even order them I’m so picky about my fries. I can’t think of the last time I had a french fry that was worth eating. Well, until these Rosemary Sweet Potato fries slid onto the table…

Why, Smashburger? Why?

Since that fateful day, I’ve made my own version of Sweet Potato fries with Rosemary – twice.

It’s just olive oil, rosemary, salt, pepper and, of course, sweet potatoes.

Bake in the oven @ 450 for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. These don’t have the crunch that deep frying would give them, but hey, they are WAY healthier!

Enjoy with some homemade ketchup, ranch dressing or a creamy horseradish dip.

And let me know what you think of Smashburger if you’ve tried it! :D

5 thoughts on “Oven Sweet Potato Fries with Rosemary

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

