Apple Pie for Dad

I’m sure I’m not the only girl to say this, but I’ve got the most awesome Dad in the world. So, when Father’s Day rolls around (or his birthday, or other Dad days) I just become tongue tied. How do you thank someone who has done just about everything for you and would do just about anything for you?

Sorry Hallmark, but your cards just don’t cut it.

Thank you’s start sounding lame sometimes, you know? I mean, being a dad of 9 merits a million dollar vacation in Tuscany with a personal chef! Or a 60 foot yacht to sail around the world! He deserves to kick back, relax and let his kids do all the work!

Unfortunately, I’m not a millionaire yet, but when I am? Well, lets just say that my Dad will have it made.

But for now, he’ll have to be happy with his favorite dessert – apple pie, made by his daughters, and vanilla ice cream.

Tera made the crust on these. She’s something like a professional pie crust maker…only she doesn’t charge…for family members. You can use your favorite recipe, store bought pie crust, or this one right here.

I made the filling…cough…if you can call it “making”. It’s as easy as 123, seriously.

  • 1 – peel and slice apples
  • 2 – pile on the center of a 6-8 inch round of pie dough
  • 3 – sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar

Fold the crusts over the apples and bake at 425 for 10 minutes. Turn the oven down and bake for 30 more minutes, or until crust is golden.

Serve it up with the best vanilla ice cream you can find.

These would be fabulous after tackling a 14er like the one we hiked a few days ago. As a matter of fact, why not make them ahead and pack one as a snack? Yum! Why didn’t I think of that before???

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. I love you lots! <3

19 thoughts on “Apple Pie for Dad

  1. These look like the perfect pies for Dad too…..lots and lots of that amazing crust!!! Photos look great, Sarah. And I bet they tasted even better in that cool mountain air!

  2. Whoa, whoa, whoa!!!!!!

    Did you really, ACTUALLY link to a recipe that uses crisco instead of butter for the crust?!?!?!? No….I must have seen that wrong. M.U.S.T. have. No way could YOU have done that!!!!

    ;)

  3. I always know I’m eating a good pie when I can eat a whole pie plus another half in one evening. Not to mention the ice cream.
    Dad

  4. Hi Sarah, those sound really good and easy. I love apples. Thanks for the comment on my blog about my blackberry cobbler. We all love it and you can tell by the name of my blog that we love blackberries. Glad it turned out okay for you. It is a little scary pouring all that liquid over it. You can click here and see pictures of my finished product.
    http://janetsmart.blogspot.com/2008/11/cooking-with-my-favorite-rolling-pins.html
    I also have other blackberry recipes on my blog.

    • Thanks so much for stopping b,y Janet, and thank you for the link to the pictures. I will have to check out your other blackberry recipes as we picked a bunch of them yesterday. :D
      Blessings!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

