Two Easy Dinner Ideas…and Lemon Coconut Gelato for Dessert

I have a confession to make.

I’ve been sliding back into my old ways. You know, the old ways of making up a recipe as I go and not taking any pictures along the way. It’s liberating really…until I taste the finished product and think, I have to blog about this!  Then, I make a mad dash up the stairs to see if I can get the camera before the food is all gone.

Sometimes I win. Sometimes I look at the bottom of the dish and wonder if you would like a picture of a scraped pan and a licked spoon. The ultimate picture of past enjoyment. I think not.

All that to say this – don’t expect too many pictures in this post.  My passion is preparing food, not photography, apparently. :P

My sister and I made over 100 tortillas the other day.

Yes, keep scrolling. The stack will end.

Promise.

It was a warm spring afternoon, so I wanted something cool and refreshing to serve for dinner.

Black Bean Mango Salsa over Spicy Rubbed Sirloin Steak with Chipotle Orange Sour Cream in a homemade tortilla.

It’s a wrap.

You’ll find the tortilla recipe here.

Black Bean and Mango Salsa

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup corn, fresh or frozen, rinsed and drained

1 mango, peeled and diced

1 tomato, seeded and diced

2 green onions, sliced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 c. chopped cilantro

juice of 1/2 an orange

juice from one lime

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients and let marinate for 30 minutes to an hour.

 

Spicy Rubbed Sirloin Steak

4 sirloin steaks

olive oil

1 T. garlic powder

1 T. chipotle chile powder

1 1/2 t. salt

Mix together garlic powder, chile powder and salt. Coat steak with olive oil and rub spice mixture into meat – about a teaspoon on each side.

Grill to your liking.

 

Chipotle Orange Sour Cream

1 c. sour cream

juice from 1/2 orange

1/2 t. chipotle chile powder

1/4 t. salt

1 t. honey, or 2 t. sugar

Whisk together.

 

Dinner or Lunch Idea #2

I’ve been on the hunt for delicious, GMO free corn, tortillas and I think I found them. Food For Life Sprouted Organic Corn tortillas. The flavor is amazing!

I was craving fish tacos the other day. Fresh fish isn’t something we keep on hand unfortunately, but we had a can of salmon in the pantry.

I sprinkled salmon on one of these amazing corn tortillas and topped it with my Magenta Sauerkraut, some Chipotle Lime Sour Cream (Okay, I admit it. I’m kind of on a chipotle kick…just kind of.) and fresh cilantro. It was good. <Major understatement.

You don’t really need a recipe for this, but I have to share a little secret. It’s rather obvious what goes in Chipotle Lime Sour Cream – Chipotle Chile powder, lime juice and yeah, sour cream. But get this – smoked apple wood sea salt. Makes all the difference in the world. Believe me.

Now comes the part I know you all have been waiting for…dessert. After all, we eat our dinner just to get to the dessert right?

Someone said they wanted ice cream last night. That’s all it takes to get me started. Well, usually I block it out because someone says they want ice cream nearly every single night and I can’t deal with that. So last night was an exception, I guess.

Here’s what I came up with –

Tangy Lemon Coconut Gelato

1/2 c. lemon juice, freshly squeezed

1/2 c. sugar

1 can coconut milk

cream

unsweetened shredded coconut

In a 4 cup measuring cup, mix lemon juice, sugar and coconut milk until sugar is dissolved. Add cream to the 3 1/2 c. line. Blend and pour into ice cream maker to freeze. Heat a cast iron skillet on the stove until hot. Sprinkle in 1/4 c. shredded coconut. Turn burner off and stir coconut. It will turn golden very quickly. Remove skillet from burner to cool. Sprinkle on frozen gelato and serve.

And there are no pictures. I was lazy last night and didn’t make it up the stairs until the gelato was almost gone. Sorry. Maybe next time…as I’m sure there will be a next time. The lemony tangy-ness is perfect for summer. Be warned though – there’s just enough sugar to keep from puckering your face all up, so if you like things sweeter, add another 1/4 of a cup.

So what do you think of the idea of Chipotle Lime Ice Cream?  :P

4 thoughts on “Two Easy Dinner Ideas…and Lemon Coconut Gelato for Dessert

  1. Well, since I’m not as much of a fan of chipotle as you are I don’t know that I would relish that taste in lime ice cream…but hey…I’ll give it a try…

    And I’m honored because I know it was me who wanted ice cream the other night and I’m so glad you made it…it was fabulous.

    And the tortillas are my very favorite, you know.

    You are so amazing!!!

  2. Hey Sarah? How about that lemon ice cream tonight? So you can get pics for this post??? ;)
    It was sooooo yummy! And so perfect after a long day!

    As far as the other two recipes…wow, I totally missed out!!!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

