Garden Herb Frittata

I wonder, what is life like with reliable internet connection?
I’ve been trying to post this for days, but our internet has hit it’s “summer time mode” – meaning it only works for minutes at a time. My brother informed me that it works great from 4:00am to 6:00am. I guess I don’t care that much. :D  I suppose if I want reliable I should go back to dial-up – sllllooooow and stead she goes!
Anyhow…I planted a garden!
It’s exclusively edible flowers and herbs. The fresh herbs just waft anticipation of all the delicious dishes I intend to make this summer. Oh yum!
Oregano
This is a new one for me – Lime Basil and it really does have a lime flavor!
Parsley
Italian Basil
Dill – I crave Swedish pickled herring,  new potatoes and sour cream just smelling it!
My favorite – Rosemary
It’s just a baby garden with baby plants, but I couldn’t resist picking a few leaves to try in this Fritatta, hence the name in the title. The fresh herbs just take it over the top.
Garden Herb Frittata
serves 2-4
butter
4 eggs
1 c. shredded cheese 
(I used cheddar since that is what was on hand, 
but gouda, swiss or emmentaler would take it to the next level.)
1/4 c. milk
dash of sea salt
pepper
chopped fresh herbs – rosemary, oregano, basil
1 leftover baked or boiled potato
4 sliced turkey bacon
1 1/2 c. fresh spinach, torn or sliced into bite-sized pieces
Start by whisking together the eggs, 1/2 c. cheese, milk, salt, pepper and herbs. Set aside. Heat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Melt butter in a 10 inch, oven proof skillet and saute turkey bacon and potatoes until golden. If you don’t have leftover potatoes on hand, try a cubed, crusty bread, or make without for a low carb option.
Toss the spinach on top and stir to wilt a bit.
Turn heat to med low/low and add egg mixture. Stir occasionally, just until the mixture starts to thicken.
Top with remaining 1/2 c. cheese and place in the heated oven for 15-20 minutes.
Slice and serve.
One thought on “Garden Herb Frittata

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

