Oklahoma Snow!

After months of no precipitation whatsoever, the skies have finally opened up and a wonderful, white blanket of  snow  covers the drab colors of an Oklahoma winter.

It’s still snowing a bit, or maybe it’s just the wind blowing it around. Five inches is a significant amount for us “southies”, but I hope we get more. I hope we get feet and feet of this wonderful stuff!
I suppose that’s a selfish wish though… Most Oklahomans would prefer nicer road conditions. Click this link and this one to see what John was doing  in the snow today. :D
I love  winter ! I love the snow and cold, the warm winter clothes, hats and scarves, sweaters and boots, fleece and flannel. I love cozy fires and cups of warm chai, books and down comforters.
I also love winter foods – soups and stews, roasts and potatoes, mac and cheese and grilled cheese dipped in tomato soup. Mmmm! Am I making you hungry yet? :P
My winter recipe for today is a fun twist on the classic meatloaf. One of my brothers stated this was the best meatloaf ever, so there you go! Do you need more recommendation than that? :P It also fits the bill for fast and simple preparation.
Once again, I made a monstrous amount, but I’ve paired the recipe down here for a reasonable 6-8 servings. So here we have it –
Jalapeno, Cheese and Potato Meatloaf
1 lg potato,  cut into 1/4 inch pieces
1 onion,  diced
1 jalapeno, diced
1/4 c. fresh cilantro, stems removed, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 lb. cheddar cheese, cubed
2 lb. ground beef
1 t. salt
1 t. cumin
1/4 t. cayenne pepper
2 eggs
1/2 c. milk, cream or half and half
 Combine onion, potato, garlic,  jalapeno, and cilantro.
Beautiful isn’t it?
Add the cheese….
 Cheese is my favorite food. Did you know that? So now you know what to get me for my birthday…
So yeah, add more cheese if you like, and spices and cream and eggs. And don’t forget the meat.
Mix it all up. Dump it all into a 9×13 casserole dish  and form into a loaf. For fast cooking, form into two loaves. For even faster cooking form into several individually sized loaves.

Surround with wedges of purple and white onions. Bake at 350 for 2 hours,  checking at about 1 1/2 hours to cover if it’s getting too brown.

Serve with an avocado and citrus salad and mashed potatoes. Or try a new take on cauliflower. I’ve been seeking to incorporate more veggies into our meals – even more than usual that is, and we were all pleasantly surprised with this dish. One of my brothers (Not the one mentioned earlier, another one.) said they tasted like mashed potatoes – gone weird. :P
Anyway, if you want the recipe let me know. :D
Now, I’m off to make a pumpkin dessert with another one of our porch decorations!
Have a lovely winter everyone!
And check out my brother’s (Nope, neither of the two mentioned above – the other one.) photograph site for some amazing micro shots of our snowflakes !
5 thoughts on “Oklahoma Snow!

  1. Mmmm…nom, nom, nom. I'll have to try this when I can eat cheese again. :-)We tried pureed cauliflower instead of mashed potatoes once, and it was, shall we say, less than a hit. ;-) I would be interested in trying a different recipe.

  2. I think the key to the cauliflower is to NOT think of it as a substitute for mashed potatoes, April. :D I mean, really, there is no sub for MP! :P For this dish, I boiled 2 heads of cauliflower and 4 cloves garlic. After draining and blending it up, I mixed in 1/2 c. grated parmesan (doesn't help when you aren't eating cheese, huh…)and salt to taste. Then I sprinkled it with roasted, chopped cashews. Not bad at all! :D

  3. Mmm, looks yummy. I never would have thought of putting all that in a meatloaf, but it sounds great. Still working through your pumpkins? :) All the ones I have left are in frozen form now, and I think occasionally about using them…don't get much further than that. :)

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

