Homemade Tortillas

I don’t know if you all have them where you are, but here in the south we boast this really cool Mexican restaurant, with this really cool griddle, that makes some amazingly hot homemade tortillas. If they ever go out of business (which they probably won’t ’cause they’re so cool), I am so buying that tortilla griddle from them!
If you’ve never had homemade tortillas fresh off the skillet, then you are in for a treat. Slathered in butter and dipped in fresh salsa or queso…oh my! Yum!
This recipe was given to me by two sisters who spent a lot of time in Mexico. So, yeah, they should know their stuff when it comes to tortillas. As long as you aren’t feeding armies of hungry, tortilla-loving workers right off the job, (a.k.a. the Naylor family), this recipe is fast and easy – like, you’ll have fresh tortillas for dinner in no time flat even if you do start dinner at dinner time.
Makes 12, but feel free to cut the recipe in half.

3 c. flour (I use whole wheat and white – ratio 1:2)
1 t. salt
1/3 c. olive oil
3/4 – 1c. HOT water

Stir together flour and salt. Add oil and then water small amounts at a time. Knead until soft and not sticky. (I do all of this in my Kitchen Aid mixer fitted with the kneader from start to finish.) Wrap in plastic wrap and set aside for 30 minutes – or even several hours. (Although you can safely skip this step if you’re livin’ the “dinner is late” scenario.) This will give the dough more elasticity and make it easier to handle.

 Pinch off dough the size of a golf ball and roll into the shape of said object. Dip in to a bowl of flour.

Flatten, with your palm, onto a bread board and roll out flat with a rolling pin. Don’t get into a tizzy if you can’t get them perfectly circular on your first few tries. It takes practice…and a french rolling pin (see note below).

Cook on a hot skillet for one minute or less, turning once.

Store or freeze as you would any other tortillas. However, they are very best eaten not more than 30 seconds old. Trust me on this.

A word on rolling pins – I am a huge fan of the French rolling pin as opposed to the classic rolling pin with the handles on the sides.

This pin is so much easier to handle and I like that you can “feel” the dough underneath it. The design also makes it easy to roll circles.
Where as, with this one, I feel like I’m using one of those asphalt flattening machines you see with road construction crews. No dexterity whatsoever! 
But, maybe that’s just me… I’m strange like that. :D
8 thoughts on “Homemade Tortillas

  1. These tortillas are scrumptious!Absolutely the BEST!I agree about using the french rolling pin. Somehow it is easier to manipulate. I think, Amber, when you roll you are mostly using the wider middle section, so you may not cover as much of the dough at one time, but you can move the pin around easier.

  2. We love homemade tortillas – I'll have to try this recipe and will have to try the french rolling pin. My tortillas usually end up looking like a variety of states instead of circles. When I take mine out of the pan I put them into a plastic bag to keep them warm and soft. It works great! I really enjoy your blog Sarah! Thanks for sharing all these great ideas and recipes!

  3. Pingback: Two Easy Dinner Ideas…and Lemon Coconut Gelato for Dessert | Stir It Up!

  4. Nice work! I have made naan and other flatbreads a few times, it’s fun and I should do it more often. I like the french rolling pin too.

    • Thank you, Sara! I haven’t tried naan yet, though I’ve heard a lot about it. I’ll have to give it a go sometime. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

