Orange Date Bars

Dates… 

They aren’t the most popular fruit out there these days. I, however, fully intend to do my part to change that.

Do you know that dates are loaded with nutrients? What other sweetener on the market boasts 8 grams of fiber, 2 grams of protein, small amounts of Vitamins A, B6, B12, C, E  and K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, niacin, Folate, Calcuim, Pantothenic acid, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese and selenium in a 100 gram (I know, I’m going European on you….that’s about 4 dates.) serving size?

That’s why dates make a great sweetener for certain tasty treats like these Orange Date bars. Simple ingredients, amazing flavor, complex nutrition. Yeah!

Orange Date Bars
1 1/2 c. dates
2 T. butter
1 orange
1 t. vanilla
1/2 c. cocoa powder
1/2 c. grated unsweetened coconut
Zest orange, then cut in half and juice. 

 

Combine dates, butter, zest and 2  T. orange juice, vanilla and cocoa powder in food processor.

Blend until ingredients are well combined. 
It can be smooth, or chunky depending on your preferences.
If it’s too sticky add more cocoa powder. 
I know, it’s not very pretty, but just wait!
Shape into logs, then roll in coconut.

Freeze for a couple hours before serving.
13 thoughts on “Orange Date Bars

  1. I'd love to try this recipe. Reminds me of "Lara Bars". Ever have one? They are made with only raw fruits and nuts, and I've noticed that they always have dates in them—usually as the first ingredient. The bars are very varied with names like: lemon pie, pecan pie, carrot cake, coconut cream pie, chocolate coffee, and cinnamon roll—just to name a few. These are our favorites. You've inspired me to try making my own!

  2. Oh Sarah!! You've really inspired me to get back into the kitchen and try some of your recipes you posted!!! All of it looks oh sooo good!!!Miss you!!!I'll try to call soon! :DHugsHeather from Oregon

  3. I love your blog! It's so creatively put together and look so yummy!! Might you be able to direct me to that bean soup recipe we put grated Parmesan in when I visited?Keep posting, oh amazing one! ^_^ <3

  4. Can you use regular dried dates that you find in the dried fruit aisle next to cranberries, raisins, et cetra? Or, do you need to find the “fresh” ones that they sometimes have in the produce section?

    • Yes, those dried dates. :D I haven’t tried fresh dates with this recipe…but it would be interesting. Fresh date just aren’t easy to find around here. :)

  5. These came out great! I added about half a cup of almonds to the mix, along with about a Tbs of fine ground coffee and a Tbs of cinnamon (Gave a touch more fanciness to the recipe) I also only had sweetened coconut on hand so I cut out some of the sweetness out by rolling them in half coconut and half coarsly chopped slivered almonds. Will definitely make again!

    • Awesome! Your variations sound fabulous, Kelsey, and I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe. Thanks so much for commenting! I love hearing how a recipe turns out for someone and what they do differently. :)

  6. Pingback: Date Sweetened Chocolate Chip Cookies | Stir It Up!

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

