Down Home Southern…well, almost.

I live in the South.  Always have.
But for some strange reason I don’t consider myself a “southern gal”, nor do I cook a lot of the traditional southern foods that we are known for around here. Maybe it’s because I never could pick up the accent
or maybe it’s because I thoroughly dislike frying foods. 
There are a few recipes though that just aren’t the same unless they are fried and, forgive me for stating the obvious, but Fried Chicken is one of those recipes. Fortunately, I have an amazing sister who will do the frying when such frying needs doing and she generally does it outside on the grill! If you’ve never tried that, you should. It’s awesome.
So last night, it was just the two of us and Dad. Instead of getting take out, as was suggested, I decided to make fried chicken. You know, the “healthy way”…minus the oven method, of course. My grandma has a great fried chicken recipe, but it’s a… well, a family recipe, so I wouldn’t dare post it. 
This one I came up with on the go. With whole wheat flour and cornmeal, it’s a heartier version of the old classic, but pretty tasty all the same.

1 egg
1 c. plain yogurt
1 c. fresh ground whole wheat flour
1 c. white flour
4 T. cornmeal
2 t. sea salt
2 t. ground pepper
1/2 t. paprika
1/2 t. garlic powder
16 pieces chicken
oil for frying 

This will serve about 6 people.

Place egg and yogurt in a cake pan and beat with a fork until combined. 

  I used Brown Cow yogurt, but if you can get my all time favorite, Mountain High, then feel pretty special! It is the very best yogurt ever. Who needs ice cream when you can have a cup of Mountain High vanilla with fresh wild raspberries… Oh wait, I forgot. I’m in Oklahoma, not Colorado

In another cake pan mix all the dry ingredients. 

 The line up…

I used all natural chicken thighs and drum sticks. Meat with bone-in will take a lot longer to cook, so if you’re going for speed, chicken tenders and thighs are great. Kitchen shears or scissors make easy work of cutting boneless chicken into the right sized pieces. 
Dip the chicken into the yogurt mixture, dredge in flour and place in the awaiting oil. You can shallow fry with about 1/4 inch of oil or you can use an inch or so – depends on your pan and/or your preferences. It doesn’t really affect the out come of the chicken.

There are a lot of options for the cooking oil. Sometimes I use olive oil if I’m shallow frying. Coconut oil is probably the healthiest to use for frying, but some people don’t like the coconut flavor that lingers on the chicken.  Peanut oil also has a higher resistance to the damaging heat affects. I find that if you’re frying, your frying, so you may as well use the plain stuff. All fats get damaged from high heat and that’s the fact.

 We didn’t use the grill last night since there were only three people to cook for. What a mess it made though!

Cook until gold brown, about 5 minutes on each side ( it all depends on how hot the oil is and how big the pieces are, so it’s hard to give an exact time), turning once.

That looks pretty “down home south” don’t you think? 
Tomatoes from the farmer’s market with balsamic vinegar, oil salt and pepper (oops, getting an Italian twang…), Fresh corn and zucchini salad, garlic Parmesan mashed potato casserole and fried chicken. Voila! Or, ummm… 
…oh well, I can’t think of how to say that in “southern”.
4 thoughts on “Down Home Southern…well, almost.

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

