Mushroom Hunting

I’ve always been intrigued by  wild mushrooms. However, I don’t know enough about them to identify each  one correctly and that, I hear, is a choice of life or death.  I hesitate to try them, as yummy as they may look, even when I “think” I know what they are. Puff Balls are easy to identify and I’ve sliced and sauteed them in butter. Morels are another mushroom that would be pretty hard to mistake, but that’s been the extent of my edible mushroom gathering walks.

Our hike the other day opened up a whole new world of mushrooms.
A couple hours. Thirty-eight varieties.

 This little beauty looks like it came right out of a Swedish fairy tale. It was easy to identify as a  Amanita muscaria  or Fly Agaric, and is of the poisonous variety. Good to know, eh?

  The  Yellow Coral Mushroom
from what I can learn, is edible. 
However, I don’t know if I, myself, would take my word for it.

I haven’t been able to discover one bit of information on this mushroom. I thought it was too adorable – if a mushroom can be referred to as  adorable, that is.

Sarcodon imbricatus  or the Shingled Hedgehog. 
Another edible variety…though I can’t say it’s exactly appetizing in looks.

 I know it’s hard to tell from this picture, but this mushroom was gigantic – like the size of a large mixing bowl.
I posted a picture of it on Colorado Mushrooms and was told it is a  King Boletus edulis. That was my guess after doing a search on the internet. Apparently, these are pretty tasty, but I’m not sure I have the nerve to try it.


 Tiny, unidentified mushrooms. 


Scaber stalk 
Can’t you just imagine an  elf sitting under this? 


Mushrooms come in all different  shapes


colors


and  sizes.

They grow on rocks…

on stumps…
…and forest floors.

Shiny mushrooms…
Fuzzy mushrooms…
Funky mushrooms – under huckleberry leaves.

It’s a whole new world.

Amanita muscaria
This one looks poisonous.

 One more of the Boletus before closing. 

Wow! This one would feed 6 hungery hikers easily.

And that’s my plan – to learn enough about wild plants that I will be able to identify enough edible “things” to cook out in the wilderness for all my happy campers…and keep them happy. :D

If anyone can identify any of these mushrooms, or knows one I misidentified,
please leave me a comment and let me know!
Special thanks to those on Colorado Plants for identifying a few of the mushrooms for me.

4 thoughts on “Mushroom Hunting

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

