Menus

One of the questions I probably get asked most frequently is “I don’t have any ideas! What do you do for menus???!”
Well, the short answer to that question is, I usually don’t. :D A menu, for me, is what happens after I’ve put it all on the table…almost. :D I look in the fridge and go, “Hmmm…” and figure it out right there.
I know, that’s not very helpful. So, I wrote down what I made for a week just to see how it looked. If you find yourself in a ‘hot dog and beans’ rut this week, perhaps it will inspire you.

Monday ~
Tortellini Florentine Soup
Toasted Baguettes
Tomato Mozzarella Salad w/ Balsamic dressing

Tuesday ~
Chicken Salad with Grapes and Pistachios
Lettuce
Homemade Flax& Wheat Germ Bread

Wednesday ~
Fresh Mozzarella and Tomato Pizzas w/ Spinach Pesto
Veggie Sticks

Thursday ~
Orange Chicken Pasta
Oriental Salad

Friday ~
Black Bean Soup w/ Sour Cream
Cornbread
Mandarin Orange Spinach Salad

Saturday ~
Bean and Beef Burritos

Sunday ~
Grilled Chicken
Roasted Veggies
Saffron Rice

Most of these dishes are simple enough to do without recipes. I usually combine those “simple, know-it-by-heart recipes” with new ones that I find in Southern Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Midwest, Bon Appetit, or others – like the Tortellini Florentine (BHG) and the Orange Pasta (SL, I think :D). That way it’s never too overwhelming, but it stays pretty interesting.

Recommended book read ~ Nourishing Traditions by Sally Falon Lots of healthy recipes and interesting health info. Recipes on how to make yogurt, sourkraut, sourdough and other old world – and good-for-you – foods.

One thought on “Menus

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

