Culinary Ventures

Welcome to my kitchen blog!

I hope you like rambles because I have a feeling that’s a bit of what you’ll be getting here. In my other blog I’m way too serious, so I’ll try not to mix politics, biblical worldview and deep thoughts into my stew of recipes. ; )

So – Recipe of the Day is Sourdough Bread! Ever heard of Nourishing Traditions by Sally Falon? It’s all about soaking the whole wheat flour for healthier and more easily digested bread. I’ve been experimenting with this for years and never had results that are very satisfying. However, perseverance wins and I made some fabulous “soaked wheat” bread yesterday and today.

Here’s how – The evening before baking mix together
4 c. whole wheat flour
2 c. kefir or plain yogurt
1/2 c. olive oil.
Add a bit of water to moisten enough to stir it into a ball. Cover with a wet towel and let sit overnight.

In the morning – Combine
2 T. yeast
1 c. warm water

Blend into starter dough along with
2 eggs
1 T. salt

Add white flour until dough is knead-able. Now you can either transfer it to a bread board or knead it by machine adding more flour until dough is only slightly sticky. Drizzle on some olive oil and roll to coat. Cover with damp cloth again and let rise for 2-4 hours.
Shape into loaves or buns and cover to let rise again for an hour.
Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes. Remove from pans and let cool on rack.

Okay, yes, it is “cheating” to use white flour, IMO, but I have heard that it’s actually better digested than unsoaked wheat. It definitely makes nicer bread! :P

For lunch this afternoon I created Seaside Rubens using my Panini Grill and, of course, the sourdough bread. This sounds crazy, but it’s good…and my brothers can vouch for that! :D

Mix Canned Salmon with Newman’s Own Thousand Island dressing.
Spread mayonnaise on bread and top with kraut, salmon and cheese. Grill for about 8 minutes.
Mmmm!

2 thoughts on “Culinary Ventures

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

