Sharp Cheddar Cheese Crackers

I’m not sure what it is about me and grocery shopping, but it always makes me hungry. Not the hungry-for-anything kind of hungry, the I-NEED-cheese-crackers kind of hungry. I scan the shelves…Annie’s cheese bunnies? Cute, but never enough cheese. Late July’s buttery crackers sandwiching cheese spread? Still not enough cheese. I want Cheez-its kind of cheesy, only healthy.

Is that too much to ask, world?

Apparently, it is, so I came home and made my own.

IMG_0738

I think you’ll agree that they are better than anything you can find at the store.

I posted this recipe on my Instagram (I finally joined…and shocked my brothers in the process! I’ll be posting short recipes and food inspiration for you over there, so give me a follow if you feel so inclined @cheffingitwithstiritup .), but when a friend asked me to do a post about it, I didn’t hesitate. Can you have too many cheese crackers in your life?

Sharp Cheddar Cheese Crackers

  • 1/4 c. coconut flour
  • 4 oz. shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese – I used Calbot’s
  • 3 T. butter
  • dash of garlic powder
  • dash of paprika
  • as much fresh ground pepper as you please

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and blend together with your hands (or use a food processor) until it looks like this…

IMG_0724

Yes, it’s crumbly, but you should be able to squeeze it into balls. If not, add another tablespoon of butter.  Form into balls and place on parchment paper.

IMG_0727

Press the balls flat using your finger tips to get them as thin as possible.

IMG_0729

Poke holes in them with a fork or toothpick. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. Turn the oven off, crack open the door and let them sit in there for about 5-10 minutes to get nice and crispy. Remove from oven, let cool, and enjoy!

IMG_0743

13 thoughts on “Sharp Cheddar Cheese Crackers

  1. So excited!!!! We can have these :oD

    Looking forward to trying them. Soon!

    Sad that we couldn’t come out today, but it was definitely the best decision. We all feel much better just taking it easy today. Hopefully next week works out!!

    Light, Life, and Love, Jenny

  2. Pingback: Sharp Cheddar Cheese Crackers | Paleo Recipe Books

Throw your thoughts into the mix!

